As a state with one of the highest auto insurance rates in the United States, Louisiana is unfortunately also a state with a high number of uninsured drivers. As many as 13% of Louisiana drivers are uninsured, which contributes to costly insurance rates.
However, insurance is mandatory under Louisiana law. Uninsured motorists can incur hefty fines and more severe penalties. You need insurance to protect yourself from financial liability if you are involved in an accident and to file negligence claims if you are the accident victim.
It may be tempting to avoid paying for car insurance, but the number of car accidents in Louisiana is a clear warning of the risks you take by failing to do so. According to the Louisiana Traffic Records Data Report, there were 44,569 traffic crashes causing injuries in 2019. The same year there were 727 fatalities from car accidents and other accidents involving motorists in the state.
No Pay, No Play
Louisiana passed the “No Pay, No Play” law in 2011, stipulating that all Louisiana vehicles must have Bodily Injury Liability and Property Damage coverage, at a minimum. The state did this partly to control insurance rates, which were even higher before introducing the law.
Crucially, the law states that victims of accidents caused by another driver’s negligence cannot collect the first $15,000 of bodily injury liabilities and the first $25,000 of property damages if they are not insured when the accident occurs. These numbers correspond to the minimum requirement of liability insurance.
In other words, you can only collect damages if you’re minimally insured. However, there are five exceptions to this rule in which you would be able to collect damages under any circumstances.
- The other driver is intoxicated when the accident occurs and is either cited and convicted or pleads no contest
- The other driver intentionally causes the car accident
- The other driver flees the accident scene
- The other driver is a felon when the accident takes place
- You were legally parked at the time the accident occurred and were not operating the vehicle
However, drivers are not required to purchase other types of auto insurance. They can, however, choose between collision coverage, rental car coverage, towing and labor, medical payments, and comprehensive coverage. Premiums vary between providers, so research the best policies in your area that meet your needs.
Hire a Personal Injury Attorney in Louisiana
If you or a loved one have been involved in a car accident in Mandeville, Covington, New Orleans, or Baton Rouge, contact our personal injury lawyers for guidance. If the other driver was at fault, you may be entitled to compensation for injuries, damages, and other losses, but only if you have the mandated minimum insurance according to the “No Pay, No Play” law in Louisiana.
With our many years of experience helping victims of road accidents file legal claims and gain compensation for their losses, we know how to help resolve your claim during a difficult time. We understand that gaining compensation for medical bills can be part of overcoming the trauma of a car accident, and we can help our clients achieve financial peace of mind.
Contact us today to schedule your free consultation at RFA Law.